School Tax Rates and Bills

School property tax rates are set in August for the upcoming school year. Tax rates are based on the total tax levy in the voter approved school budget, the state-determined equalization rates, and assessment rolls for each town.

Paying School Taxes

Due Dates

School property taxes are due Oct. 31 each year. School taxes will be collected without penalty from Sept. 1- 30. A 2% penalty will be added to payments received from Oct. 1-31. No payments are accepted after Oct. 31. Any amounts unpaid at that time will be turned over to the appropriate county.

Payment Methods

Pay by mail

Payments that are mailed must be postmarked no later than October 31. Checks should be made payable to OESJ. Send your check or money order with remittance stub to:
Tax Processing Unit
PO Box 12845

Albany, NY 12212-2845

Pay online (credit/debit/e-check)

Taxes can be paid by credit/debit card (2-day processing).  Residents whose school tax bills are paid via escrow accounts should not use this service as the amount due will be deducted from their escrow accounts during the month of September, as in years past. Residents who choose to use the online bill pay service should note that the company that provides the service charges a fee of 2.35% with a  $2.00 minimum or $.50 for an e-check.

STAR Information

For information about STAR exemptions and to register for STAR, visit the STAR website or call (518) 457-2036.

Property owners can search for their accounts by last name, street address, bill number or SBL (section block, lot) number. School tax rates for the 2023-2024 school year, per $1,000 of assessed value are:
  • Ephratah $21.880703
  • Johnstown $24.195962
  • Oppenheim $34.109585
  • Stratford $16.821165
  • Danube $20.465751
  • Manheim $21.927591
  • Minden $15.349313
  • Palatine $29.589038
  • St. Johnsville $44.012368

Questions about your school taxes

Property owners can contact the school tax collector Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. at (518) 568-9990. Questions about assessments, exemptions or address changes should be directed to local assessors: (OESJ is NOT able to make changes to the tax rolls):

  • Danube – (315) 867-1632
  • Ephratah – (518) 762-5688 ext. 23
  • Johnstown – (518) 762-6804 ext. 6
  • Manheim – (315) 429-9631
  • Minden – (518) 993-4844
  • Oppenheim – (518) 568-2837 (office); 518-647-8068 (home)
  • Palatine – (518) 673-5099
  • St. Johnsville – (518) 568-2662 ext. 103
  • Stratford – (315) 429-3639 (office); 518-647-8068 (home)