NYS Learning Standards

Learning standards adopted by New York in 2011 are comprised of the Common Core State Standards – national academic standards developed by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices and the Council of Chief State School Officers – along with a set of additional standards.

New York state is developing the Next Generation Learning Standards that will be in effect by the Spring 2021 statewide English Language Arts and mathematics testing.

The new standards have been the result of over two years of collaborative work. More than 130 educators and parents worked together to make recommendations and revise the standards, resulting in a new set of revised English Language Arts and Mathematics Learning Standards.

Information and Resources

Next Generation Learning Standards

New York State Education Department


This is the official web site for current materials and resources related to the Regents Reform Agenda. The agenda includes the implementation of the New York State Next Generation Learning Standards.

Common Core State Standards Initiative