Home of the Wolves‎ > ‎news‎ > ‎

1st quarter OESJ High School High Honor Roll Breakfast

POSTED 12/11/2013
High school breakfast honors High Honor Roll students
Fifty-three OESJ High School students were honored at a breakfast at the school Wednesday, Dec. 11 for earning placement on school's first quarter High Honor Roll. 

To be placed on the High Honor Roll, high school students must earn an 89.5 percent or higher average.

"It's important celebrate the accomplishments of our students," OESJ High School Principal Ronald Smith told the crowd of students and parents. "These students exemplify the rigor, relevance and relationships that our school is based on." 
The event was attended by St. Johnsville Deputy Mayor Marty Callahan and included OESJ English teacher AnnaMarie Goderie and science teacher Jacques Mosher as guest speakers. The keynote speaker for the event was Charles Abba, a former Bethlehem School District principal and mentor to Mr. Smith. 

Mr. Abba congratulated the students on their hard work and effort. 

"Teachers don't give you grades. You earn your grades," Mr. Abba told the students. 

A teacher for 20 years and a school administrator for 12, Mr. Abba spoke to the students about the skills needed to be college and career ready, touching on organizational and prioritization skills, study habits, time management and discipline. He also encouraged students to be accountable for their own education, to set goals, to be open minded and receptive to constructive criticism.

He also advised students to start thinking early about which colleges they would like to attend and to become familiar with the college application process.   

To view a photo album of the breakfast program visit the district's Facebook page. (Note: You do not need to be signed into Facebook or have a Facebook account to see the photo gallery.) [Click here to see the photo gallery...] 

Students earning placement on the High Honor Roll for the first quarter included: freshmen Austin Algerio, Jeffrey Baker, Seth Bly, Adelina Brundage, Aidan Eggleston, Emilie Engle, Caitlin Handy, Alyssa Jasewicz, Lyndsey Lynch, Abby Mosher, Justus Richardson, Alexis Romeyn, Liam Sammons, Jason Smith, Austin Swartz and Zachary Tinkler, sophomores Rebecca Bruce, Samantha Lamphere, Kelsey Lovett, Gillian Perry, David Rackmyre III, Cynthia Smith, Abigail Swank and AnnMarie Yezierski, juniors Brittany Ambrosino, Hunter Boonen, Allexis Brown, Erica Christmann, Andrew Hart, Kaitlyn Isaac, Teresa Krutz, Samantha Mumford, Marissa Nellis, Tabea Salzmann, Alyssa Swartz, Nathaniel Trumble, Laiken Whittredge and Grace Yezierski and seniors Haley Arminio, Victoria Blyth, Tyler Boonen, Russell Dunderdale, Breanna Dunn, Jessica Hagadorn, Jessica Senft, Skyler Viveros and Jeremy Wegener.