OESJ Holds Spelling Bee

On January 28, 2015, thirty students in grades 4-8 participated in the annual spelling bee.  They were joined in the high school auditorium by all their classmates to help cheer them on.  The Spelling Bee started at 9:00am and lasted about an hour and 45 minutes.  Congratulations goes to Dylan Corapi, a seventh grader, who is the winner of this year’s annual Spelling Bee!

Congratulations also goes to second place winner Faith McFarland (eighth grade); third place – Aiden Ortlieb (sixth grade); and fourth place – Travis LaFountain (sixth grade).  We are all very proud of all of the contestants that participated.  It’s not easy getting up in front of everyone you know and successfully perform!

Dylan will compete again in the Times Union/Capital Region BOCES co-sponsored regional Spelling Bee on February 24, 2015, at Proctors Theatre in Schenectady, NY.  The event was organized by Karen Pelletier and Karen Jones.  They would like to thank April Stalteri for being the pronouncer and Dina Brundage, Karin Eggleston, Michele Ferraro and Hannah Murcray for graciously serving as judges for the event.

Above:  2015 Spelling Bee contestants:  Jade Dygert, Carolyn Littrell, Olivia Reynolds, Jaslynn Leach, Anderson Eggleston, Savannah Hayes, Colby Christman, Cameron DeMartino, Maggie Christensen, Jesse Walrath, Isabella Dittmer, Sayge Ruffino-Mosher, Lucas Frederick, Travis LaFountain, Joshua Montes, Aiden Ortlieb, Madisyn Schell, Brian Battisti, Shaina Golliday, Dylan Corapi, Trinity Rathbun, William Schoff, Von Baker, Gabrielle LaCoppola, Jaedyn Logan Dillenbeck, Adan Vasquez, Hannah Ouderkirk, Adam Schuyler, Faith McFarland, and Cody Richards

Above from left to right:  Travis LaFountain, Aiden Ortlieb, Faith McFarland and Dylan Corapi